Conference chairmanship

The conference will be co-chaired by Dr. Nina Vik and Mr. Finn Katerås of the Norwegian Environment Agency. They will lead work with preparations for the conference, co-chair the conference and be resonsible for the conference report. Nina has a PhD in biology, and works primarily with international co-operation on biodiversity. She is presently the national focal point for IPBES. Nina was co-chair for the eighth Trondheim Conference in 2016. Finn has a degree in economics and business administration, and works primarily with issues related to environmental economics and ecosystem services. He was co-chair for the sixth Trondheim Conference in 2010, and was involved in much of the negotations leading up to the adoption of the CBD Strategic Plan 2011-2020 and the Aichi targets in Nagoya in 2010.

Conference secretariat

The organizer of the conference is the Norwegian Environment Agency, and the agency has in place a team to plan and implement the conference. Anne Martinussen is the conference coordinator, and Kristin Sundal is the conference secretary (assisted by Ingeborg Einum). The secretariat will also be staffed by people from other institutions for some functions.

Rapporteur team

The conference co-chairs will be assisted by a rapporteur team in preparing and writing the conference report. The team will be lead by Jerry Harrison of the UN Environment World Conservation Monitoring Centre (UNEP WCMC).

UNEP WCMC also assists with preparing the conference program and liaising with relevant international organisations and institutions.

Eider (Photo Morten Ekker)